Tags

, , , , ,

Why yes, I DO plan on cooking my own birthday dinner tonite. Don’t get me wrong; my wife is a great cook; I just really enjoy cooking. I mean, it reenergizes me. Part of it is that cooking takes so much focus and intention that it is a respite from my normally million mile an hour running brain. While it is work (sometimes hot, sweaty, “Jon is now a whirling dervish” work) it gives me an immediate place to pour everything into. I find few places that give me this same catharsis that doesn’t involve a strong drink and vegging out on the couch by myself. Of course, that is totally unproductive…so I’d rather do something with myself…with my limited time (in a day, but also in life. *WHOA! Way to get heavy!). Something that makes some sort of impact even if it is just on my stomach=-)

Tonite’s menu? As of now I’m looking at:

  • Some sort of pasta with homemade tomato sauce and turkey meatballs
  • Brussel sprouts
  • undecided other side dish

This is dictated by what we have in the house, by the fact that my wife loves pasta, and also by the fact that on a really cold winter night a nice hot bowl of pasta will keep me warm.

Now this might get me shot, but I’ll take the risk. The turkey meatballs for tonite…they are premade. frozen. from Trader Joe’s.


Ahhh…I can just hear the objections now. Too bad. The fact is that even though I love cooking, sometimes I need to rein it in so I can enjoy the evening with friends and family. Being my birthday, tonite is one of those times.

I am not adamant about not using premade items, but I am also no Sandra Lee. Generally I don’t use them as I enjoy the creative process in addition to the learning experience. However, tonite is special. Plus: Trader Joe’s is pretty boss. They put out great quality food at a better price than anyone else in the area.

So while these won’t be as good as homemade meatballs, instead I will have time to sit with my wife, watch a movie (which one?), have a couple of drinks and think on all the wonderful, amazing blessings I have in my life.

Happy birthday to me.

~Jon

